Then Tiger Woods hits an almost perfect shot to the green. The ball hits the flag pole and careens into the water. That means he has to hit another shot and take a penalty stroke, which he did. This time, the ball landed perfectly, less than 5 ft. from the hole.
In a post game interview, Tiger told the commentator that instead of dropping his ball in the same spot as the original drive, he dropped it two feet behind, in order to get the distance perfect. Evidently that's a no-no in golf, subject a two stroke penalty, and possible disqualification. The judges let it pass.
After the interview aired, a viewer called in and mentioned that Tiger admitted to dropping the ball in a different place. oh-oh. Was this the mills of karma, grinding slowly? The judges reviewed, decided he wouldn't be disqualified, but did assess him a two stroke penalty.
I don't yet know how this will affect the outcome of the tournament. But it makes me wonder if this was a random event, or a karmic event. Interesting to speculate. In ei